Agreement and Disagreement

To express agreement, we can use :

- I agree

- I go with you

- I’m with you

- I think so 

- That’s a good idea

- That sounds good

- That’s right

- That’s true 

- That’s OK 

To express Disagreement, we can use:

- I disagree  

- I don’t agree

- That’s wrong

- I don’t think so 

- I think that’s not a good idea 

- etc.

Kalau neither … nor… digunakan untuk menggabungkan dua kalimat yang sama – sama negative, contohnya:

- Rudy doesn’t like Physics

- Rudy doesn’t like Math

Jika kedua kalimat tersebut digabungkan menggunakan neither … nor … maka menjadi:

Rudy likes neither Physics nor Math 

- The driver wasn’t safe in the accident

- The passengers weren’t safe in the accident

Jika dua kalimat tersebut digabungkan, maka menjadi:

Neither the driver nor the passengers were safe in the accident 

Sedangkan either … or … digunakan dalam kalimat yang maksudnya kalau tidak ini, ya yang itu.

Contoh

Ann: What does Merlin play?

Leo: She plays either guitar or piano Bob   : I want to subscribe magazine?

 

Dicky : What magazine?

Bob   : I’m still in doubt. I will subscribe either “Hello” or “Contact”

 

“Neither” and “Nor”

“Neither” is a singular adjective and can be paired with “nor” in a sentence. “Neither” is never paired with “or”. When using “neither” in a sentence, you are saying not the first object and not the second object are behaving in a certain way. The nouns/pronouns are in agreement with one another. “Nor” can also be used independently when negating the second part of two negative clauses.

  • Neither Corie nor Bob went to the play. (Corie isn’t going to the play. Bob isn’t going to the play.)
  • She said, “I don’t like broccoli.” I said, “Neither do I.” [Neither is used here because she doesn’t like broccoli, and I don’t like broccoli. (You may hear people say,”Me neither,” this is colloquial and not grammatically correct. You wouldn’t say, “Me don’t like broccoli.”)]
  • She didn’t want to sing, nor did she want to dance.

“Either” and “Or”

“Either” is also a singular adjective. It means one or the other, but not both. “Either” expresses one noun/pronoun doing one thing and the other noun/pronoun doing another; in this way it is a “positive” word because what is occurring is true. “Either” can be paired with “or”, but not “nor”.

  • She wanted to paint either a landscape or a self-portrait. (She wanted to paint one or the other, but not both.)
  • I can’t remember if either Georgia or Julia wanted a doll for Christmas. (One of the girls wanted a doll, but not both.)
4 Balasan ke Agreement and Disagreement

  1. era mengatakan:

    thx

  2. Krystyna mengatakan:

    I used to be suggested this blog via my cousin.
    I’m not sure whether this post is written through him as nobody else know such distinct approximately my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

    From=krystyna.pickens@gmail.com

Berikan Balasan

Ikuti

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

